Understanding Poverty and Inequality in South Africa 3-7 August 2015 Cape Town

Grappling with poverty and inequality, two of the key challenges facing South Africa, lies at the heart of most of government's work. Inequalities between social classes and countries combine with discrimination based on gender, race, culture and sexual orientation to form patterns of poverty and exclusion that pervade the world today and characterize South Africa. Poverty is driven by inequality and cannot be addressed without resolving the root causes of inequality. Dealing with poverty and inequality poses a complex social and economic challenge, for which there is no silver bullet.

The course provides participants with an overview of the issues and key considerations, and focuses on possible levers of change and effective strategies for combating poverty and inequality.



Group photo by Liam Cornell

Understanding Poverty and Inequality in South Africa						
Participants						
Anthony Makwiramiti	National	Department of Social Development	Director			
Brenton van Vrede	National	Department of Social Development	Acting Deputy Director-General			
Connie Malefahlo	National	Department of Social Development	Director: ISSA			
Darkey Africa	Provincial	Planning Commission: North West Province	Chairperson			

Davison Batidzirai	Provincial	Department of Economic Development, Environmental Affairs & Tourism: Eastern Cape	Director: Strategic Management
Desiree Jason	National	Department of Social Development	Chief Director
Edeshri Moodley	National	Department of Planning, Monitoring & Evaluation	Director
Euody Mogaswa	National	Department of Planning, Monitoring & Evaluation	Director: Parliamentary Liaison
Gcino Mlaba	National	Department of Science and Technology	Deputy Director: Development Partnerships
Ivanhoe Mapeling	National	The Presidency	Researcher
Joyce Mokobi	Provincial	Office of the Premier: Limpopo	Senior Manager
Justice Nkunjana	Provincial	Department of Social Development: KwaZulu Natal	Community Development Manager
Kanyiso Walaza	National	Department of Cooperative Governance	Director: Local Economic Development Policy & Practice
Kealeboga Letlhaku	National	Department of Science and Technology	Deputy Director: Development Partnerships
Kelebogile Sethibelo	National	Department of Public Works	Chief Director: EPWP Operations
Kenny Maluleke	National	Department of Social Development	Director
Leon Swartz	National	Department of Human Settlements	Director: Technical Development
Leonard Nkuna	National	Department of Planning, Monitoring & Evaluation	Chief Director
Lerato Lentsoane	National	The Presidency	Director: Content and Policy Support
Makhosazana Thobela	Provincial	Office of the Premier: Limpopo	Deputy Director
Matilda Skosana	National	Department of Environmental Affairs	Chief Director: Information Management & Sector Co-ordination
Maureen Mogotsi	National	Department of Social Development	Director: Population Development Research
Mfelasakhe Mahlangu	National	Department of Basic Education	Chief Education Specialist
Michael Cindi	National	The Presidency	Chief Director
Michael Maseko	Provincial	Office of the Premier: Western Cape	Deputy Director
Mmapitso Mokotedi	National	Department of Science and Technology	Deputy Director (Unit: Development Partnerships)
Nozipho Shabalala	National	Statistics SA	Executive Manager
Osborne Masilela	National	Department Social Development	Director: Social Insurance

Phathutshedzo	National	Department of Planning, Monitoring &	Economic Sector Specialist
Mabuda		Evaluation	
Pule Sekawana	Provincial	Department of Rural Development &	Chief Director
		Land Reform: Free State	
Rosemary Mojaki	National	Department of Planning, Monitoring &	Director: Government Performance
		Evaluation	Information
Sam Bopape	Provincial	Office of the Premier: Limpopo	Senior Manager
Sandile Simelane	National	Statistics SA	Director
Sipho Senabe	National	Department of Public Service &	Chief Director: Macro Policy Analysis
		Administration	
Solly Molayi	National	Statistics SA	Manager: Transport Statistics
Tebogo Malatji	Provincial	Office of the Premier: Limpopo	Senior Manager
Thomas Ramovha	National	Office of the Deputy President	Specialist Media Liaison
Vukile Nkabinde	National	Department of Small Business	Director: Informal Business & Chamber
		Development	Support
Wonderboy Peters	National	The Presidency	Director
Zarina Rahman	National	Department of Social Development	Director: Policy & Programme
			Evaluations