The School of Economics is one of the largest and most successful economics departments in South Africa. With over 30 faculty members, the department can offer a wide range of postgraduate courses within the coursework Honours and Masters programmes.

The School of Economics offers a coursework PhD programme called the AERC (African Economic Research Consortium) Collaborative Programme. In this programme, students take courses in Cape Town and Nairobi over two years and then write a dissertation. We also offer purely research-based degrees at both Masters and PhD levels and a popular part-time Honours programme in Economic Analysis of Finance Markets (formerly known as Financial Analysis and Portfolio Management).

UCT’s postgraduate economics degrees carry full international recognition because of their carefully designed content, which makes them comparable with similar programmes abroad.

Term Dates: The Masters and Honours degrees commence three weeks before the official start of the University term. Please get in touch with the Postgraduate Administrator for the exact term dates.

The School of Economics offers the following Postgraduate Programmes:

Postgraduate Diploma

Honours Programmes

Masters Programmes

Doctorate Programmes

Please note that the closing date for the AERC Collaborative PhD programme is 31 July. Please note this earlier closing date.

For more information, please see the Commerce Postgraduate Faculty handbooks.