The Postgraduate Diploma in Accounting (PGDA) is a one year programme that prepares students for the Initial Test of Competence (ITC) set by the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA).

The programme is only offered on a full-time study basis.

What courses are included in the PGDA at UCT's College of Accounting?

Course code and name: NQF credits HEQSF level
ACC4023W Financial Reporting IV 36 8
ACC4025H Governance, Audit & Assurance III 24 8
ACC4020W Managerial Accounting and Finance III 36 8
ACC4002H Taxation III 24 8

UCT offers the following undergraduate degrees as preparation for the PGDA:

•  BCom specialising in Financial Accounting: Chartered Accountant or
•  BBusSc specialising in Finance with Accounting

Graduation in any one of the above options is an entrance requirement to the PGDA.

Entry Requirements
The entrance criteria for the Postgraduate Diploma in Accounting (PGDA) offered by UCT for each of the below categories of students interested in completing the UCT PGDA is:

Category 1: UCT Applicants 
Category 2: Applicants from other universities

For more information on the course, please refer to the Commerce Postgraduate Handbook.