Who should do the BCom Honours specialising in Actuarial Science [CH001BUS01]?

This intensive programme is aimed at graduates who have completed either the BCom (Actuarial Science) or the Advanced Diploma in Actuarial Science (Actuarial Conversion Course).

An important note about exemptions: Successful completion of this programme could lead to exemptions from some of the exam which a candidate must pass to be admitted as a Fellow of either the Actuarial Society of South Africa or the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries in the UK (corresponding to the subjects A205, A301 and A302 in South Africa or subjects CT8 and CA1 in the UK).

The Duration of this qualification: One year of full-time study or two years of part-time study. Prospective students should also take note that this programme consists of coursework and an actuarial research project. 

Compulsory Coursework:

Code Course and name         NQF Credits NQF Level
BUS4027W Actuarial Science III: Actuarial Risk Management 54 8
BUS4028F Actuarial Science III: Financial Economics 21 8
BUS4034S Professional Communication (Actuarial Science)  27 8

Research project:

Code Course and name   NQF Credits NQF Level
BUS4129H Actuarial Research Project  36 8

For more information about the programme, please refer to the Commerce Postgraduate Handbook.